< Back

INTRODUCTION TO THE PHE AND DIGITAL TECHNOLOGY SURVEY

Ever since the COVID-19 crisis began, the field of education has been faced with a new and surreal situation: an unprecedented number of children, teens and adults are no longer physically attending their schools and universities. More than 2 billion learners in over 180 countries have been, or are still, confined to home. In this context, a team of researchers and practitioners in France and Québec is conducting an international study in order to better understand:

  • the reality of those who teach Physical Education and Health / Physical and Health Education (PHE) as well as how they have been teaching since the pandemic began;
  • how digital technology was used in PHE lessons before the pandemic and how it has been used since in-person classroom teaching has resumed at certain institutions;
  • the role that digital technology has played in educational continuity as part of distance education in the pandemic context;
  • the challenges of making digital technology a part of PHE lessons and teachers’ underlying training needs./li>

Why do we need this kind of international survey?

We live in a time of rapid change when digital technology is shaping how all societies are evolving, exerting a significant impact on every society’s economic, social and cultural dimensions. And the field of education is no exception. In a world where the use of digital technology is expanding daily and where young people are often captivated by its many facets, its place in PHE and in all school subjects has never been the subject of so much reflection. In 2020, especially in the current pandemic context, the new avenues that digital technology is opening up in PHE cannot be disregarded. That’s why this survey aims to identify the uses and challenges associated with digital technology in PHE classes. Thus, our goal is to apply a pragmatic, research-oriented approach to document realistic and sustainable ways of integrating digital technology. This will shed light on the general outlook for making digital technology part of this school subject, but also, more specifically, on the specific context that emerged in March of this year.

This type of project is intended to highlight the range of digital teaching practices being applied as well as the associated limitations, obstacles, concerns, areas requiring vigilance, and even pitfalls.

< Retour

POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS SUR L’ENQUÊTE PORTANT SUR LE NUMÉRIQUE ET L’EPS

Depuis le début de la crise liée à la COVID-19, l’éducation est confrontée à une situation inédite et surréelle : un nombre sans précédent d’enfants, de jeunes et d’adultes ne fréquentent plus, physiquement, leurs écoles et universités. En effet, ce sont plus de deux milliards d’apprenants de plus de 160 pays qui ont été, ou sont encore, confinés. Dans ce contexte, une équipe de chercheurs et de praticiens, de la France et du Québec, réalise une étude internationale dont l’objectif est de mieux comprendre :

  • la réalité des enseignants d’éducation physique et à la santé / éducation physique et sportive (EPS) et de leur enseignement depuis le début de la pandémie;
  • la place du numérique dans la leçon d’EPS avant le contexte de pandémie ou depuis la reprise des cours en présentiel dans certains établissements;
  • le rôle qu’a pu jouer le numérique dans le cadre de la continuité pédagogique pendant l’enseignement à distance dans le contexte de pandémie;
  • les enjeux de l’intégration du numérique dans la leçon d’EPS et les besoins de formation sous-jacents.

Pourquoi une telle enquête internationale?

Nous vivons à une époque de mutations rapides où le numérique revêt une influence importante sur l’évolution de l’ensemble des sociétés et affecte de façon significative toutes leurs dimensions économiques, sociales, ou culturelles. Et l’éducation ne fait résolument pas exception. Dans un monde où la place du numérique s’affirme chaque jour davantage, et où les jeunes sont souvent captivés par ses nombreuses facettes, sa place en EPS et dans l’ensemble des disciplines scolaires n’aura jamais été autant remise en question. En 2020, surtout dans le contexte actuel de pandémie, impossible donc de rester insensible aux nouvelles avenues que le numérique offre à l’EPS. C’est en ce sens que cette enquête vise à cerner les usages, mais également les défis associés au numérique dans les cours d’EPS. Notre objectif est donc de documenter, à la fois par une approche pragmatique et axée sur la recherche, des voies réalistes et durables d’intégration du numérique. Ceci afin d’apporter un éclairage lucide sur les perspectives offertes de façon générale par l’intégration du numérique dans cette discipline scolaire, mais aussi plus spécifiquement dans le contexte particulier dans lequel nous sommes plongés depuis mars dernier.

Ce type de projet a ainsi pour ambition de mettre en lumière l’éventail des pratiques pédagogiques du numérique, mais aussi les limites et obstacles rencontrés, les préoccupations et points de vigilance, ou encore les dérives potentielles.